What Will 2015 Bring?

Originally posted on January 1, 2015

Happy New Year Friends!  🙂

I spent the last day of 2014 with my darling nephew at the World Junior hockey game Switzerland vs. Sweden.  Sweden won, 1 – 5.  We had the most amazing seats!  We were practically right on the ice, it was very exciting!

I had decided ahead of time that it would be a short fast day, because there really isn’t any food there at the ACC that I can eat, and they do not allow you to bring in your own food or drink.  Not even water, so I had to buy a 1/2 litre bottle of water for $5.50!  Can you imagine?  Utterly ridiculous prices!  This is generally why I don’t go out to sporting events, one, the ticket prices, two, the lack of affordable food and drink once I get there.  But I won these tickets (good thing too, the price on them was $98 each!) and it was a great way to spend the day with my nephew.  I’m happy that we went.

Intermittent fasting is quite easy, once a body becomes fat adapted.  Generally speaking, if your diet consists primarily of quick burning refined carbohydrates, (as most North Americans’ diets are),  you will feel hungry every couple of hours or so.  If your diet consists primarily of healthy fats and proteins however, intermittent fasting is a breeze, and most of the time you won’t even notice the hours pass between meals.  My only difficulty since starting the AIP is breakfast protein options, I used to eat 3 eggs every morning.  Yes, I know food can’t tell time.  I stopped getting hung up on time of day foods years ago.  However, quick and easy to prepare and protein are not always synonymous.  Leftovers do quite well, though I generally save those for lunch.  And I haven’t had any leftovers since the Christmas turkey dried up finally 😉  The easiest way to last from breakfast to dinner time is to have a good healthy protein and fats breakfast.  Breakfast meaning only “break your fast”, not cereal, milk, and toast.

Otherwise my AIP diet is going well, except one slip up that I didn’t know pimentos are nightshades.  I will now buy olives with stones in, rather than stuffed olives.  Which is fine, I love olives in any form, even black ones.  I’m having a Big Ass Salad for lunch at the moment.  Mixed field greens, avocado, radish, cucumber (seeds scraped out) with olive oil and sea salt.  I’ll have some nice organic beef for supper for my protein requirements today.

So far, the all over body pain has significantly reduced since starting the AIP in November.  For which I am more than glad!  The pain inside my mouth has reduced slightly, but my throat still feels like it is wearing an ugly Christmas sweater, and I am still suffering daily headaches.  I think the headaches are in part due to the residual cough from my bout with the flu.  I’m still struggling with some congestion.  For the headache pain I’m trying a herbal remedy called “Migraid”, it has feverfew, skullcap, and magnesium.  And here’s a tip for you, never go shopping to the health food store without your glasses!  The print on some of those bottles is so small!  I had to get the lady in the shop to read the ingredients for me.

I have made my first attempt at coconut milk kefir.  I’m not quite sure what it’s supposed to look or taste like, but it definitely fermented, judging by the smell and taste, so I guess it worked out.   I thought it would be thicker though.  Maybe I will try something different next time.

I am hoping that the AIP puts this Sjogren’s into remission, and that I can start to reintroduce foods sometime soon.  I know food reintroduction after an elimination diet can take weeks to months, and I have recently decided that I want to walk the Camino de Santiago Primitivo in the fall of this year (if I can save enough money by then).  The walk will be all the more difficult if I am still limited to the AIP, though still not impossible by any means!

I could always ask Sarah Ballantyne herself her suggestions for a successful AIP Camino.  I will be seeing her at a book signing this coming Sunday at the Indigo book store at Bay & Bloor in Toronto.  She will be travelling with Stacy Toth, author of “Eat Like a Dinosuar”, “Beyond Bacon” and “Real Life Paleo”.    I’m very excited to meet them both.

Here’s to a great start to the New Year.  I wish you best health, and happiness.

If you, or someone you know is struggling with autoimmune disease, weight problems, diabetes, digestive issues, headaches, or just need some extra encouragement to reach your health goals, please do contact me to schedule a free consultation.  Just click the “Conatact Me” tab above!

Buen Camino 🙂

Leave a Reply

