I Got Glutened!

Originally posted on February 15, 2015

I was “glutened” yesterday.  I had some paleo porridge for breakfast with some coconut flour bought at the Bulk Barn, and pretty much immediately afterward felt the pain starting.  I still had to go to work though.  The pain got progressively worse through the day, and I still had to go grocery shopping!  I stopped at the health food store and got some magnesium citrate powder to help with the pain and constipation that always comes with a glutening.

By the time I got to bed, I was writhing in pain, and it pretty much stayed like that for a few hours.  At times I felt like I would throw up because of the pain, and I was back and forth to the bathroom a few times.  I don’t know what time it was when the pain started to subside enough that I could sleep, but it was pretty late (or early, depending how you look at it!).

I woke up this morning at around 8am, still feeling woozy with a bit of pain in the gut, and all my joints feeling inflamed, but was able to get on with my day.  I even still managed to get to spin class and core class, though I was feeling like a weakling not too far into it!  Again, I wasn’t able to do *all* of the standing portions of the class, but I did manage to do that last bit, which was about 3 minutes.  Through all of it I never stopped peddling, I kept going.  And stayed for core, which nearly killed me 😉  (crunches suck!)

On my way home I stopped at another health food store (they sell my Kreacher dog’s raw food that he likes with his kibble) and got a bottle of aloe vera juice.  I’ll have that with my dessert smoothie maybe this evening, and again in the morning with a breakfast smoothie.  Lots of greens, fruits and veggies all blended up with aloe juice to help heal my aching guts!

I will say though, it has been a few years since the last time I got cross contaminated, and the recovery this time has been rather quick.  I’m quite certain it’s because overall, I’m more healthy, and with the Paleo Autoimmune Protocol, my immune system is now able to take care of me the way it should.  All because of food.  Both the pain, and the healing.  I still have some aches in me, but considering the week we’ve had here, I’m doing alright.  I haven’t had much sleep all week, my Mum has been ill with pneumonia. I took her to the ER on Monday evening when I got home from work, she was in until Tuesday evening after dialysis.

Good food, lots of rest, and exercise, the recipe for a healthy long life.  I understand the struggles, believe me!  I wouldn’t wish that pain I had last night on anybody!  Before though it would have been days until I would be up and around again!  The pain would have lasted 3 or 4 days, and the constipation would have been as long as 3 or 4 weeks!  I’ll let you know how that goes 😉

If you’re struggling with trying to figure out how to feel well and recover from pain more quickly, I can help.  I’ve been there, I’ve done the studying, I’ve experienced it myself.  Contact me below, and we’ll make an appointment for a free consultation.  You tell me as much of your story as you can in 50 minutes, then I’ll tell you about my 6 month programme.  No obligations, no strings.

Now, I’m going to go check on my beef bone broth, and munch of some seaweed snacks 🙂  Life is great (though I am ignoring the fresh covering of snow in the driveway 😉 )

 

**update – Monday 16th Feb**

Ok, so I said I would let you know how the recovery was going and about the constipation issue.  So, since I got glutened on Friday, I had one serving of magnesium citrate that evening before bed.  I had 2 more servings each on Saturday and Sunday, plus also some aloe juice twice on each Saturday and Sunday.  And the constipation is gone already!  Everything is moving along just as it should be.  🙂  I really wish I had known about AIP and magnesium and aloe juice all those many years ago!  It would have saved me so much pain and anguish.

But, now *You* know, and you do not have to suffer a similar fate as I did!  You’re welcome 🙂

Leave a Reply

