3…2…1…Launch

Originally posted Oct. 18, 2014 – Last Christmas my nephew and niece gave me a copy of Col. Chris Hadfield’s book “An Astronaut’s Guide To Life On Earth”.  I started reading it one morning on the bus on my way to work, and not even halfway into paragraph one, I was already crying and felt like a big fat loser!  In a good way!

If you’ve not read the book, I highly recommend it, and then you’ll know what I mean I hope.  Col. Hadfield knew at the age of nine that he was going to be an astronaut.  Even though Canada did not have a space programme at the time.  Everything he did from the moment he made that decision he worked toward being an astronaut.  He didn’t tell anyone, not his parents, not his friends, nobody. He just decided that he was an anstronaut.  And that’s the trick right there.

When I was a kid I wanted to be an astronaut too.  I was 2 years old when Neil Armstrong stepped out onto the moon for the first time, so I’m not sure I remember it when it happened, but I do remember seeing the news footage probably in the years afterward.  When I was 5 Santa brought me a Billy Blast-Off toy for Christmas, I got to play with it for a while before my father and uncle broke it on Boxing Day.  That was short lived, and I still mourn the loss of Billy Blast-Off 40+ years later.  And I still want to be an astronaut.  But I’m not, I’m a health coach.  And I have Chris Hadfield to thank for that.  He inspired me to not be a loser, and to get up and Do Something.

Here’s how it went.  Like I said, I was not even half way into paragraph one when I started crying and felt like a big loser.  What had I done with my life?  Not a whole lot.  I could continue to make excuses about a bunch of things as to why I hadn’t accomplished ANYthing that I had ever wanted to, but quite frankly I was tired with that.  I decided there and then to really do something about it.  I didn’t know at the time exactly what or where it was, but something had to give.  I decided that at least once a week for this year 2014 I would do something entirely new, or something challenging, or something just for fun and just for Me.  Every week, and I started that week.  I thought even if I didn’t figure out What I Want To Be When I Grow Up, I’d have some fun and learn new things, and that’s never a bad choice.

I stuck to that challenge, and then in April of this year I found IIN, I registered, and it’s been something new, something challenging, and something fun, all rolled into one.  And now I Am A Health Coach.  Soon to be taking clients, in 3…2…1…

 

Thank you Commander Hadfield.  I couldn’t have done it without you.  

Leave a Reply

